Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

Early Childhood Research Group

  • Overview
  • Members
  • Research Support Staff

The FOAE Early Childhood Research Group conducts research focusing on children (birth-eight years) and pedagogy, profession, and curriculum in early childhood education and care (ECEC) settings (e.g., preschools, family day care, playgroups and integrated child and family programs), and the early years of school.

This group brings together a critical mass of early childhoodresearchers (academics, HDR students, research assistants), with the aim of building research capacity, establishing or expanding collaborations and networks, and supporting funding application success. The group also aims to cultivate a positive collegial environment that will help develop the full potential of researchers at all stages of their careers.

The Early Childhood Research group builds on existing research strengths in FOAE that include:

Children: Speech, language and literacy, including in diverse cultural, linguistic and geographical contexts; children’s inclusion and participation; infants and toddlers; child emotional, social and cognitive development, resilience and complex needs; children’s participation in research.

Pedagogy: Family-school partnerships; relationships; learning readiness and transition to school.

Profession: Early childhood educator well-being; workforce sustainability; quality; policy; leadership; professional development, interprofessional collaboration.

Curriculum: STEM education in ECE; arts and technology.

Reflecting this expertise, CSU has recently earned an ERA rating of “above world standard” for Field of Research 1301 Education Systems, which encompasses: early childhood education; and 1302 Curriculum and Pedagogy, which encompasses: creative arts, media and communication curriculum and pedagogy, curriculum and pedagogy theory and development, mathematics and numeracy curriculum and pedagogy.

Early Childhoodresearch in FOAE is aligned to CSU’s goals of developing “Resilient People” and “Flourishing Communities”. The group uses a wide and innovative range of theoretical and methodological approaches, influenced by the members’ different disciplinary expertise.

Dr Tamara Cumming

Dr Tamara Cumming

Chair Early Childhood Research Group

Senior Lecturer with the School of Teacher Education

tcumming@csu.edu.au

Professor Sharyanne McLeod

Professor Sharyanne McLeod

Deputy Chair Early Childhood Research Group

Professor of Speech and Language Acquisition

smcleod@csu.edu.au

Dr Shukla Sikder

Dr Shukla Sikder

Lecturer in Early Childhood Education

ssikder@csu.edu.au

Jennifer Dwyer

Jennifer Dwyer

PhD Student

Academic Lead – Sessional Staff Support SOE & SOTE

jedwyer@csu.edu.au

Dr Helen Logan

Dr Helen Logan

Senior Lecturer in Early Childhood Education

hlogan@csu.edu.au

Dr Graham Daniel

Dr Graham Daniel

Associate Head of School & Senior Lecturer in Educational Psychology

gdaniel@csu.edu.au

Dr Libbey Murray

Dr Libbey Murray

Associate Head of School & Senior Lecturer in Early Childhood Education

emurray@csu.edu.au

Melinda Brooker

Melinda Brooker

PhD Student

Dr Michelle Brown

Dr Michelle Brown

Lecturer in Speech and Language Pathology

michbrown@csu.edu.au

Nicole McGill

Nicole McGill

PhD candidate in the School of Teacher Education

nmcgill@csu.edu.au

Anna Cronin

Anna Cronin

PhD candidate in the School of Teacher Education

acronin@csu.edu.au

Dr Kate Crowe

Dr Kate Crowe

Adjunct Lecturer

Kate Margetson

Kate Margetson

Research Assistant

Van Tran

Van Tran

PhD Student

Andi Salamon

Andi Salamon

Lecturer in Education (Early childhood and primary)

asalamon@csu.edu.au

Anna Perrett

Anna Perrett

Sessional Lecturer

Audrey Wang

Audrey Wang

Research Project Assistant

Dr Angela Fenton

Dr Angela Fenton

Associate Head of School of Education, Senior Lecturer

afenton@csu.edu.au

Dr Laura McFarland

Dr Laura McFarland

Senior Lecturer in Early Childhood Studies

lmcfarland@csu.edu.au

Mandy Cooke

Mandy Cooke

PhD Student

Dr Sarah Verdon

Dr Sarah Verdon

Phd Student

sverdon@csu.edu.au

Dr Suzanne Hopf

Dr Suzanne Hopf

Masters Lead / Lecturer in Speech and Language Pathology

shopf@csu.edu.au

Dr Sheena Elwick

Dr Sheena Elwick

Senior Lecturer in Early Childhood Education

selwick@csu.edu.au

Belinda Downey

Belinda Downey

Associate Lecturer in Education

bdowney@csu.edu.au

Dr Linda Mahony

Dr Linda Mahony

Senior Lecturer in Education

limahony@csu.edu.au

Robbie Warren

Robbie Warren

PhD Student

Salima Yeung

Salima Yeung

PhD Student

No results were found