Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

Environmental and Social Justice (ESJ) Research Group

  • Overview
  • Members
  • Projects
  • SDGs

Social science and humanities researchers in the Faculty of Arts and Education at Charles Sturt University are interested in exploring a wide range of research focusing on social change, psychosocial wellbeing, community resilience, and environmental justice. A transformative approach is adopted to reflect underpinning research principles relating to holism, diversity, relationality, and the questioning of dominant assumptions. The group’s research efforts are guided by Yindyamarra Winhanganha – ‘the wisdom of respectfully knowing how to live well in a world worth living in’ - and the University’s ethos - ‘for the public good’ (DET, 2017).

The group’s projects include collaborative research in partnership with individuals, groups, organisations, communities, government and global entities. Strengths-based and outcomes focused research as well as theory-building projects are undertaken to explore topics such as (but not limited to):

  • Wellbeing e.g. health, mental health, ability and disability;
  • Development across the lifespan e.g. healthy ageing, children and young people;
  • Indigenous Australian and First Nations’ knowledges;
  • Rural communities;
  • Sex and gender e.g. patriarchal power, privilege and diversity;
  • Sustainability and the environment;
  • Cultural diversity and multicultural communities;
  • Professional practice e.g. identity, education and praxis.

A range of theoretical frameworks underpin the group’s research endeavours, including critical social theory, feminist theory, complex systems theory and post-conventional approaches. Qualitative methodology and mixed-methods approaches are used in the group’s projects.

The group is committed to sharing knowledge through quality publications and research outputs, external collaborations, as well as professional development activities with a range of local, national and international partners. As an active, diverse group of peers from a range of disciplines, there is also a strong commitment to supporting other researchers, including early career researchers and postgraduate students at all levels. The wide-ranging nature of the group’s research is in alignment with the intersecting aims of the University’s research strategy – resilient people, flourishing communities and sustainable environments.


Reference

  • Department of Education and Training (DET) (2017). Mission Based Compact between the Commonwealth of Australia and Charles
  • Sturt University. Citation for ‘Yindyamarra Winhanganha’. Retrieved from
  • https://docs.education.gov.au/system/files/doc/other/2017-compact-charles_sturt_university.pdf
Associate Professor Karen Bell

Associate Professor Karen Bell

Facilitator

Associate Professor in Social Work and Human Services

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

kbell@csu.edu.au

Dr Heather Boetto

Dr Heather Boetto

Co-facilitator

Lecturer in Social Work and Human Services

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

hboetto@csu.edu.au

Dr Peta Jeffries

Dr Peta Jeffries

Associate Lecturer in Indigenous Australian Studies

School of Indigenous Australian Studies

pjeffries@csu.du.au

Professor Manohar Pawar

Professor Manohar Pawar

Professor in Social Work and Human Service

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

mpawar@csu.edu.au

Dr Bernadette Moorhead

Dr Bernadette Moorhead

Lecturer in Social Work and Human Services

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

bmoorhead@csu.edu.au

Monica Short

Monica Short

Lecturer in Social Work and Human Services

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

mshort@csu.edu.au

Sabine Wardle

Sabine Wardle

Lecturer in Social Work and Human Services

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

swardle@csu.edu.au

Dr Fredrik Velander

Dr Fredrik Velander

Lecturer in Social Work and Human Services

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

fvelander@csu.edu.au

Dr Emma Rush

Dr Emma Rush

Lecturer in Philosophy

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

erush@csu.edu.au

Dr Angela Ragusa

Dr Angela Ragusa

Senior Lecturer in Sociology

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

aragusa@csu.edu.au

Dr Jane Garner

Dr Jane Garner

Lecturer

School of Information Studies

jagarner@csu.edu.au

Dr Kasey Garrison

Dr Kasey Garrison

Lecturer

School of Information Studies

kgarrison@csu.edu.au

Dr Jessica Tout

Dr Jessica Tout

Adjunct Lecturer

School of Environmental Sciences

jetout@csu.edu.au

Dr Danny Hunter

Dr Danny Hunter

Adjunct Associate Professor

School of Agricultural & Wine Sciences

dahunter@csu.edu.au

Dr Linda Mahony

Dr Linda Mahony

Senior Lecturer in Education

School of Education

limahony@csu.edu.au

Dr Donna Bridges

Dr Donna Bridges

Lecturer in Sociology

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

dbridges@csu.edu.au

Dr Merrilyn Crichton

Dr Merrilyn Crichton

Lecturer in Sociology

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

mcrichton@csu.edu.au

Associate Professor Peter Simmons

Associate Professor Peter Simmons

Associate Professor Peter Simmons

School of Communication and Creative Industries

psimmons@csu.edu.au