Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

STEM Education Research Group

  • Overview
  • Members
  • Research Support Staff

STEM Education research in the Faculty of Arts and Education focuses on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) education across the learning continuum, including early childhood, primary, secondary, and tertiary education; home and community settings; and both Australian and international contexts.

Collectively, this research group considers how learners and educators can be supported to see themselves as capable users of STEM knowledge and skills in their everyday lives. The program of research also emphasises the affective domain of STEM education, attending to the ways in which differing approaches to STEM education enable or constrain learners’ and educators’ positive dispositions and motivations towards engaging in STEM endeavours.

This group builds on FOAE’s existing strengths in STEM education; in particular, the School of Education and School of Teacher Education’s established expertise in mathematics, science, and technology education. CSU has recently earned an ERA rating of “above world standard” for Curriculum and Pedagogy research, encompassing mathematics, science, technology, and engineering curriculum and pedagogy.

STEM education research in FOAE is aligned to CSU’s goal of developing “Resilient People” through STEM learning and curriculum development, and access and equity in STEM education. Additionally, this research enhances educational and social frameworks with a view to supporting “Flourishing Communities” that benefit from effective STEM education.

The STEM Education Research Group utilises a wide range of theoretical and methodological approaches, influenced by the different STEM education disciplines in which individual members specialise.

This group brings together a critical mass of STEM education academics, HDR students, research assistants, educators, and people from the wider community, with the aim of enhancing STEM educational practices and outcomes for all stakeholders in the communities with whom we collaborate.

The group also aims to cultivate a positive environment that will help develop the full potential of researchers at all stages of their careers.

Associate Professor Amy MacDonald

Associate Professor Amy MacDonald

Group Leader

Associate Professor of  Early Childhood Mathematics Education

amacdonald@csu.edu.au

Professor Eleanor Gates-Stuart

Professor Eleanor Gates-Stuart

Professor of Creative Industries

egates-stuart@csu.edu.au

Professor Euan Lindsay

Professor Euan Lindsay

Foundation Professor of Engineering

elindsay@csu.edu.au

Professor Jim Morgan

Professor Jim Morgan

Professor of Engineering

jmorgan@csu.edu.au

Associate Professor Lena Danaia

Associate Professor Lena Danaia

Associate Professor in Science Education

ldanaia@csu.edu.au

Associate Professor David Smith

Associate Professor David Smith

Associate Professor in Education

davismith@csu.edu.au

Dr Barbara Bannister

Dr Barbara Bannister

Lecturer in Science Education

bbannister@csu.edu.au

Dr James Deehan

Dr James Deehan

Associate Lecturer in Education

jdeehan@csu.edu.au

Dr Shukla Sikder

Dr Shukla Sikder

Associate Lecturer in Learning and Teaching

ssikder@csu.edu.au

Dr Jacquie Tinkler

Dr Jacquie Tinkler

Lecturer in Educational Technology and Technology Studies

jtinkler@csu.edu.au

Ms Fiona Collins

Ms Fiona Collins

Lecturer in Mathematics and Education

fcollins@csu.edu.au

Mr Lincoln Gill

Mr Lincoln Gill

Senior Lecturer in Technology and Applied Studies

lgill@csu.edu.au

Mr Steve Murphy

Mr Steve Murphy

Lecturer in STEM and General Education

smurphy@csu.edu.au

Dr Nicholas Ruddell

Dr Nicholas Ruddell

Lecturer in Indigenous Australian Studies

nruddell@csu.edu.au

Dr Kay Owens

Dr Kay Owens

Senior Lecturer

kowens@csu.edu.au

Dr Jennifer Munday

Dr Jennifer Munday

Senior Lecturer

jmunday@csu.edu.au

Dr Matthew Collins

Dr Matthew Collins

Associate Head of School /Senior Lecturer in Physics

mcollins@csu.edu.au

Jennifer Dwyer

Jennifer Dwyer

Academic Lead – Sessional Staff Support SOE & SOTE

jedwyer@csu.edu.au

Natasha Fenton

Natasha Fenton

Research Assistant

nfenton@csu.edu.au