Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University


Philip Hider Elected to Senate Role

Professor Hider has been elected to the role of Deputy Presiding Officer of Academic Senate for its 2018-2020 term. He will assist the Interim Chair, Emeritus Professor Joyce Kirk, in implementing the various recommendations concerning CSU’s academic governance made in the ‘Winchester Report’, which were recently adopted by University Council.

SIS Lecturers Awarded Grant to Deliver ‘Graphic Novels, Zines, and Libraries’ Workshops

Drs Jessie Lymn and Kasey Garrison have received funding from the City of Wagga Wagga’s Annual Grants Program to deliver workshops in the local community, working with local zine artist and School of Information Studies graduate Kate Allman. The project seeks to develop the literacy and communication skills of regional youth through workshops that aim to facilitate the self-publishing of graphic novels and zines – non-traditional formats that develop a range of different literacies. The main goal of this project is to support the youth at a local education centre in building important literacy skills and confidence.

During the workshop the youth will create zines to be published and shared with other youth and the community based on a locally identified social issue. A library of graphic novels will also be purchased for the centre, and students will be introduced to the valuable resources and services at the Wagga Wagga City Library.

CSURA - SIS Scholarship

Each year the School of Information Studies and CSU Regional Archives (CSURA) jointly offer a scholarship for a student to undertake fieldwork in the Regional Archives. The scholarship is an excellent opportunity for the student to gain practical work experience in their chosen field. This year the scholarship has been awarded to Masters of Information Studies (Records and Archives Management) student Tamara Jones, who will travel to Wagga Wagga to undertake the scholarship in late 2018, with a focus on the community service records held by the Archives. Congratulations Tamara!

CSU Student Media Digital Library Project

School of Information Studies Master of Information Studies student Toby Mobbs will be working with Dr Jessie Lymn and the staff of the CSU Regional Archives (CSURA)  to develop a digital library of student media publications produced over CSU’s history. The Rivcoll student publication Hungappa was first published in 1989, and an almost complete collection of physical and digitised copies is held by the CSURA in Wagga Wagga. For almost 30 years Hungappa has documented the student experience at CSU and provides a unique history of higher education in a regional area. A similar print publication, MCC Bytes, is available to students at the Albury-Wodonga Campus.

Building on the success of Toby’s 2015 digitisation project, the current project will provide online access to past and current issues of Hungappa and MCC Bytes through the development of a digital library hosted by the CSURA, and work towards an online exhibition throughout 2019, marking the 30th anniversary of Hungappa. This digital library will be updated with future issues as they are published, creating a stable publishing environment for the student media publications as well as an historical record.

Visiting Scholar: Dr Karen Gavigan

The School welcomes Dr Karen Gavigan, Associate Professor in the School of Library and Information Science at the University of South Carolina in USA as a visitor. Karen’s research interests include the use of graphic novels in schools, and the ways in which school library programs and school library resources impact student learning. Karen is Chair of the Joint committee of the International Association of School Librarianship (IASL) and the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) Standing Committee for School Libraries. She is co-author of the book, Connecting Comics to the Curriculum: Strategies for Grades 6 ­ to 12 (Libraries Unlimited), and co-editor of the book Literacy Behind Bars: Successful Reading and Writing Strategies for Use with Incarcerated Youth and Adults (Rowman & Littlefield Pub., Inc.). Karen is working with Dr Kasey Garrison and Dr Jessie Lymn as well as presenting seminars on a variety of topics.

Recipients of Executive Dean’s Awards

The School of Information Studies would like to publicly congratulate two students who recently received Executive Dean’s Awards. These awards acknowledge outstanding academic performance. Well done to Lisa Hampshire (Master of Education (Knowledge Networks and Digital Innovation)) and Cassandra Kohle (Master of Information Studies).

Lisa Hampshire
Lisa Hampshire

Cassandra Kohle
Cassandra Kohle

Congratulations to SIS PhD Student Bec Muir

We would like to congratulate SIS CSU doctoral candidate Bec Muir who has been invited to join the Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA) "Policy Working Group - Library and information services for people with a disability". The work of the policy working group ties in directly with Bec's PhD work focussing on library service provision for people with an invisible disability. Commencing in April, the working group will work to update and revise the ALIA principles, statement, and guidelines on library services and standards for people with disabilities. This revision is anticipated to be presented to the board in October 2018.

Graduate Prizes for 2018

The School congratulates all the students who graduated from its courses in 2018. The various prizes for academic excellence were awarded to the following students.

ALIA Student Award - Bachelor of Information Studies: Louisa Petrolo
ALIA Student Award - Graduate Diploma Information Studies: Amy De Vries
ALIA Student Award – Master of Information Studies: Cassandra Kohle
ALIA Student Award – Master of Education (Teacher Librarianship): Janelle Elizabeth Moore
Institute of Information Management Prize: Jeremy Stibbard
Margaret Jennings Award (Australian Society of Archivists): Kerrie Peterson
SAGE Research Prize: Catherine Gissing
Sigrid McCausland Prize: Karen Harper

Executive Dean's Awards 2018

Congratulations to the recent batch of winners of the Dean’s Award for Excellence, who achieved the level of distinction or above in all subjects studied in two successive sessions. Those graduating last year were: Rebecca Jane Barber, Stacey Rosser, Sue Man Fung, Renai Martine Hollis, Lisa Michelle McKenzie, Jennifer Margaret Noakes, Rebecca Reed, and Stephanie Ellen Yeates.