Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University


Welcome to CSU’s School of Theology, which has an established reputation for its emphases on student-oriented learning, dynamic teaching, quality research, and social concern. These are combined with a flexible learning environment that includes face-to-face teaching, online delivery of subjects, intensives, and various other features designed to enhance student participation in the adventure we call theology.

Neither a traditional confessional Bible College nor a School of Studies in Religion, CSU’s School of Theology draws upon the longstanding resources of the Christian tradition while also engaging dynamically and constructively with its contemporary contexts. As a result, its purpose is to acquaint students with the riches of the Christian tradition, whether as an integral part of formation for ministry or as part of the quest for purpose and meaning in life.

The School has four Australian teaching sites and also an international campus in Hong Kong. On-campus classes are offered in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Sydney, and Hong Kong. Online delivery of subjects is available primarily through the Canberra campus of the School.

The ethos of the School is ecumenical, with academic staff drawn from a variety of Christian traditions, although two traditions are prominent. St Mark’s in Canberra, St Barnabas College in Adelaide, St Francis College in Brisbane, and Ming Hua Theological College in Hong Kong represent the Anglican tradition, whereas the United Theological College in Sydney is a college of the Uniting Church. Each member institution of the School is committed to delivering a rigorous and vibrant theological education.

The School offers a range of courses from the undergraduate Bachelor of Theology to postgraduate awards in theology, ministry, pastoral counselling, and ageing and pastoral studies. In each of these areas, students are able to progress to higher degrees by research: Doctor of Philosophy, Doctor of Ministry, or Master of Theology (Research).

Research is highly valued in the School, which is committed to fostering a scholarly theological community that engages constructively with contemporary society. This commitment is reflected in the close association between the School and the Centre for Public and Contextual Theology (PaCT).

You may contact us at these centres:
St Barnabas College
St Barnabas College, Adelaide
Phone: 08 8305 9380
St Francis College
St Francis Theological College, Brisbane
Phone: 07 3514 7411
St Marks National Theological Centre, Canberra
Phone: 02 6272 6252
United Theological College
United Theological College, Sydney
Phone: 02 8838 8900
HKSKH Ming Hua Theological College, Hong Kong
Phone: +852 2521 7708