Tina Du

Heads of School

Professor Tina Du

B.S, MLIS, Ph.D.

Head of School, School of Information and Communication Studies
Building 1400, Room 1.13

Professor Tina Du is the Head of the School of Information and Communication Studies and a full Professor of Information Sciences at Charles Sturt University in New South Wales, Australia.

Tina was awarded the Australian Research Council Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (ARC DECRA), a highly competitive national research fellowship, and has been a visiting research fellow at the Oxford Internet Institute, University of Oxford, UK. She received her Ph.D. in Information Science from Queensland University of Technology, Australia. Her research interests are interdisciplinary, focusing on user-technology interactions, community engagement, marginalized communities, information journey, public libraries, and social impacts of emerging technologies.

Tina is a Fellow of the Governor’s Leadership Foundation of South Australia. She currently serves as a Co-Chair, Research Advisory Committee of the Australian Library and Information Association and a Director-at-Large on the Board of Directors of ASIS&T, the international society for information science and technology.

Tina’s teaching has covered a broad range of courses in digital information management and human information behaviour. Recently she taught the Research Methods course to Honours and Masters students enrolled in multiple information studies and information technology majors, Masters' research project course, and IT Capstone Professional project course. Tina has supervised 19 Ph.D. students (with 8 as principal) with 13 completions.

Teaching interests

  • Information and User Behaviour
  • Information Management
  • Human-Information Interaction
  • Digital Environments
  • Research Methodology in Library and Information Science
Current research & highlights
  • Human-information Interactions/Information Journey
  • Social Impact of Digital Technologies
  • Community-engaged Research
  • Information Technology for Development
  • Data Governance and Privacy

External Competitive Research Grants:

  • Australian Research Council (Category 1 Grant) Linkage Projects Grant (ARC LP), Amount: $450,000, and $120,000 from industry partners, total value: $570,000, "Towards full lifecycle privacy protection on cloud(2022–25)Chen, J.J. and Du, J.T.
  • Australian Research Council (Category 1 Grant) Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (ARC DECRA), Amount: $360,000, "Collaborative information seeking and its application in tourism" (2017–20). Du, J.T. Project detail
  • Australian Government The Office for Learning and Teaching (Category 1 Grant) Innovation and Development Grant, Amount: $211,000, "Evidenced-based approach to the design and redevelopment of inclusive technology enhanced learning environments" (2014–16). Wood, D., Scutter, S., Du, J.T., Glenny, L., Snowden, C., Tedmanson, D., Underwood, B., and Johnson, T. Collaboration with Uni Adelaide, QUT, and ANU.
  • Arts and Health Alliance (AaHA) Research Grant (Category 3 Grant), Amount: $30,000, “Co-designing an intergenerational arts program for CALD South Australian communities” (2023-2024).F.K. Peng, C. Maher, M. Eckert, J. T. Du (CI), N. Gu, D. Turnbull, and T. Windsor (University of Adelaide). Collaboration partners: Flinders University, University of Adelaide, South Australia Multicultural Commission, Rosemary Bryant AO Research Centre.  
  • Le Cordon Bleu Research Grants Scheme (Category 3 Grant), Amount: $20,000, "Co-creating wine tourism experiences through crowdfunding: Does it pay-off and for whom?" (2017-18). Sigala, M., Conduit, J., Du, J.T., Fountain, J., Gao, H. L., Kim, A., & Haller, C.
  • The auDA Foundation (Category 3 Grant), Amount: $75,000 "Internet Technology that is Inclusive Without Being Invasive" (2013–15). Ashman, H., Du, J.T., & Wahlstrom, K.
  • The auDA Foundation (Category 3 Grant), Amount: $24,952 "Access information via the Internet: The strengths and limitations faced by indigenous communities" (2014–15). Du, J.T.

Editorial Experience

  • Associate Editor, The International Journal of Information, Diversity, & Inclusion (IJIDI)
  • Review Editor and Editorial Board Member for 10 international journals, including Journal of the Association of Information Science & Technology (JASIST, SSCI/SCI, CORE A* and ABDC A* journal), Information Processing & Management (IPM, SSCI/SCI, CORE A), and Annual Review of Information Science and Technology (ARIST)
  • Guest Editor of 3 special issues: IPM (CORE A - top 10%) special issue "Marginalised Communities, Emerging Technologies and Social Innovation"; JASIST (CORE A* - top 6%) special issues "Paradigm Shift in the Field of Information" and "ICT4D & Intersections with the Information Field"

Highlighted Awards

  • 2023 ASIS&T Distinguished Member (ADM) - This elite status is attained only by those with a demonstrated commitment to mastering their profession through sustained educational pursuits and a proven track record of service to both their community and the information science and technology field.
  • 2022 ASIS&T Asia-Pacific Distinguished Service Award
  • 2022 Nominee, University Research Degree Supervisor of the Year
  • 2020 The Field Leader of Library & Information Science in Australia, and a Top 50 Australia’s leading researcher in Engineering & Computer Science discipline, recognised by the Australian's Research Magazine 2020
  • 2020 Mid-Career Researcher of the Year, UniSA STEM
  • 2019 South Australia Young Tall Poppy of Science Award
  • 2018 Winner of the South Australia Winnovation (Women in Innovation) Awards for “Maths and Data” Category

Professional Leadership

  • 2022 Appointed a Steering Committee Member for the Australasian Document Computing Symposium (ADCS)
  • 2021 Appointed as the Co-Chair, Research Advisory Committee, Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA)
  • 2021 Elected Board of Directors: Director-at-Large, The Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T)
  • 2020 Program Committee Paper Co-chair, the 83rd ASIS&T Annual Conference
  • 2019-20 Chair, ASIS&T Asia-Pacific Chapter

Back to Staff listings